Meet the Team

Leadership in Baptist churches is shared, local and based on the biblical model of servant leadership. Christ Church is led by a minister who is trained and accredited by the Baptist Union of Great Britain and by deacons, who are elected by the church. (Both 'minister' and 'deacon' are words which have their roots in bible words for 'servant'). Supported by an administrator, they undertake a range of responsibilities and are accountable to the whole church membership through bi-monthly church meetings.


DEACON: Roy Farrant (Church Secretary)


Roy and his wife Jan moved to the area and joined CCB in 2006.  Roy was our secretary from 2010 to 2014 and again since 2020.


Roy is a Chartered Accountant by training and worked in practice for the last fifteen years, advising independent business owners. He is now semi-retired.  He is treasurer for the Central Baptist Association.


Roy and his wife Jan both became Christians whilst at their church youth group.  They have three adult children and four young but fast-growing grandchildren.

DEACON: Cameron Varley (Treasurer)


Cameron joined Christ Church in 2017 and became a Deacon in 2020. He has a wide interest in youth work and evangelism, having himself become a Christian at the age of 30. 


Cameron took over as our treasurer in March 2023.

DEACON: Joy Cooper


A trained professional  teacher, Joy regularly helps with our children's work

DEACON: Kate Sime


Kate is a retired teacher.  She has been a member of the church for fourteen years. 


She volunteers for, bakes for and is on the management team for our bookshop/coffeeshop. 


Kate is also a member of our social committee. 

DEACON: Mark Allchorn  (picture o/s!)


Mark has been at CCB for many years and has undertaken a huge range of different work.  


Mark recently rejoined the diaconate after several years.  Now retired, he previously held senior roles within the education sector.

DEACON: Phil Carpenter


Phil has been at CCB for many years.  He helps with the children and youth work and is one of our regular guitar players.